For administrators. How to create approvals sections and set up approvers. .
Template administrators can:
- Add approval section/s into form templates
- Choose which staff are approvers
Form users can:
- Submit forms for approval
- Be notified when their forms are approved or rejected
- View their forms that are waiting for approval, and which have been approved or rejected
- Be notified when they have been asked to approve forms
- View pending requests
- Accept or reject requests
The Approvals Workflow functionality is available on Premium and Enterprise pricing plans (see details at www.apemobile.com/pricing).
It was released around August 2017. If your APE Mobile server is older than that then the functionality might not yet be switched on. That is to prevent it from being used with old versions of the mobile apps that don’t recognize the functionality. You can ask APE Mobile Support to switch it on.
|Operating System||Minimum Version of App|
When the approvals process is turned on, and you’re editing a form template, the editor has a button for adding a new approval section. You can also drag a section from the left-hand panel.
Approvals sections contain system fields with special properties:
|Approver||A drop-down list of approvers on the project, for the user to select from.|
|Requester||The name of the user who submitted the form for approval.|
|Signature||The approver’s signature, which must be signed when approving.|
|Date||The date that the approver assigns to the approval or rejection. It automatically defaults to the current date.|
|Commentary||Optional text entry field for the approver to enter comments.|
|Status||Is automatically set to “Not Submitted for Approval”, “Submitted for Approval”, “Approved” or “Rejected”.|
- The display of those fields varies for users and approvers according to the status and context.
- Their display names can be changed.
- The Commentary field can be moved up/down within the section.
- No other fields can be put into an approval section.
3.1.1 Form locking
When a form is submitted for approval, all parts above the approvals section are automatically locked so that they cannot be edited by the user or approver. However, the user can edit the form and choose “Clear Request” to withdraw the request for approval and remove the lock.
If there are other approvals section/s above then the edit lock is only removed for the parts of the form up until to the previously-completed approval section.
After a form is approved or rejected, the approver can edit the form and choose “Clear Approval” or “Clear Rejection”, which resets the form’s status to “Not Submitted for Approval” (like “Clear request” does). All of those options become unavailable when a form is closed.
3.1.2 Multiple Approval Sections
You can put multiple approvals sections into a form template.
3.1.3 Mandatory fields
The behaviour of mandatory fields changes when an approvals section is present. The approvals process takes precedence over the normal rules about saving to project.
Mandatory fields before (above) an approvals section get checked when the form is being submitted for approval instead of when saving to project.
Mandatory fields after (below) an approvals section are not treated as mandatory until the section has been approved or rejected. That means the initial user of the form can be required to enter some details, and then a later user of the form can be required to enter other details.
A user can be made an approver if they:
Operator type users cannot be approvers.
To make a user an approver, edit their project membership to turn on “Can approve” permission.